Western Massachusetts Fire Chiefs Club Formed

Western Massachusetts Fire Chiefs Club Formed

The fire chiefs of Western Massachusetts have organized the Western Massachusetts Fire Chiefs Club.

The first meeting was held at fire headquarters in Westfield, Mass,. at which the following officers were elected; President, Chief John Tracy, Great Barrington; Vice-President, Chief Errie M. Burnett, South Hadley Center; Treasurer, Chief Harold F. Warner, Amherst. Secretary. Chief Albert Bunvan, Chicopee; and Directors, Chief Roy S. Turton, Shelbourne Falls; Chief John Lynn, Fasthampton; Chief Milton C. Baggs, Belcherton and Chief Oscar R. Hutchinson, Lenox.

The western Massachusetts district which this club represents is composed of 110 cities and towns, of which seventy are actively represented. Rationing of tires and gasoline has prevented a larger membership.

Meetings are held the second Tuesday of each month in the fire stations of the various cities or towns represented. It will take over nine years to have meetings in all of these cities and towns. The purpose of the club is to exchange ideas, get acquainted with all of the chiefs and their departments and also to promote an educational program for the fire service. This will be of very great help in carrying out the Governor of Massachusetts’ proclamation whereby all cities and towns in the OCD regions are to be in a position to help other cities and towns from the border of Vermont to the border of Connecticut.

No posts to display