Lead, Survive, and Thrive: Developing Fire Service Leaders

May 6, 2021 | 11 AM EDT

Explore the tools and qualities you need to lead your teams to ultimate success. This powerful, interactive, and engaging class discusses the primary traits and skills associated with leading, inspiring, motivating, communicating, commanding, and evaluating. You will acquire the tools to effectively operate as an officer in today’s internal and external environments. Whether you are a newly promoted company officer or a senior fire service manager, this program will energize you to “Lead, Survive, and Thrive” within your organization.

Bobby Halton, Mark WAllace, Tom Jenkins and Gary Ludwig

The Successful Fire Department: Planning, Budgeting, and Execution

April 14, 2021 at 12 PM EDT / 11 AM CDT / 9 AM PDT / 4 PM GMT

Join Fire Engineering Editor in Chief Bobby Halton as he moderates a critical conversation with nationally recognized author and retired fire chief Mark Wallace and fire chiefs and IAFC past-presidents Tom Jenkins and Gary Ludwig. The panel will discuss managing resources for a successful fire department, focusing on planning and the acquisition of mission-critical equipment.

Two fire apparatus

Body Cam Video Shows Confrontation, Shooting at Hospital

Officers conducting a routine pat-down of a man in a hospital emergency room found a gun in his waistband, which spurred a struggle over the weapon and a standoff that ended in officers killing him, according to police body cam footage released Wednesday.
Firefighter at fatal Porterville library fire

Porterville (CA) Fire Department Releases Report on Firefighter LODDs

The Porterville (CA) Fire Department has released a report on a 2020 fire at the public library that killed Captain Ramon “Ray” Figueroa and Firefighter Patrick Jones.
Niger school fire

Hospital: Niger Elementary School Fire Kills 20 Children

A fire fueled by high winds swept through an elementary school in Niger's capital, killing 20 children, hospital officials said Wednesday.
Kouts Fire Department IN

Residents Report Large Explosion at IN House Fire

Residents told firefighters they heard a big explosion before their Pleasant Township home caught fire.

North Las Vegas (NV) Firefighters Rescue Two Children from House Fire

The incident occurred around 6:25 p.m. in the 3100 block of Webster Circle on Tuesday night.
Fort Worth firefighters load patient onto ambulance after fire

Resident Critically Injured, Firefighter Hurt in Fort Worth (TX) Garage Fire

During a rescue at a garage fire, a firefighter suffered injuries but continued to provide medical care to an injured resident, a report said.

Most Read