Firefighter Survival: The Two Major Types of Cardiovascular Disease
View Online | 12.6.19

December 19, 2019 at 1:00 PM EST / 12:00 PM CST / 10:00 AM PST / 6:00 PM GMT

Free to Attend — Save My Seat!

This webcast explores the types of cardiac disease that are killing firefighters and what firefighters can do to lessen their risk through prevention strategies including appropriate medical screenings, emerging wearable technologies, and physical fitness. Year after year, sudden cardiac events are the leading cause of line-of-duty deaths in firefighters. Still, the fire service knows relatively little about the types of cardiovascular disease that are most likely to lead to sudden cardiac death. This class focuses on coronary heart disease and cardiomegaly, the types of cardiovascular disease responsible for firefighters’ deaths.

Presented by:

Denise Smith
Director, First Responder Health and Safety Laboratory
Skidmore College

Sponsored by: TenCate Protective Fabrics