Lead from the Front: Fireground Tactics and Leadership

March 26, 2021 at 11:00 AM EDT / 10:00 AM CDT / 8:00 AM PDT / 3:00 PM GMT

Learn tricks of the trade that “slow the fireground down” and help you stay in control to avoid confusion and chaos at incidents. The instructor presents case studies and leadership lessons from his experiences gained in a 36-year career on the Chicago (IL) Fire Department. Modern tactics are compared to traditional tactics from the perspective of what has changed and why.

Responding to and Preparing for Acts of Violence

February 16, 2021 at 1 PM EST / 12 PM CST / 10 AM PST / 6 PM GMT

All aspects of fire and EMS response to violent incidents are addressed in this interactive workshop: single-unit response to scenes of violence, multiunit/multiagency response to active shooter incidents, civil unrest, terrorism, hazardous materials response from intentional acts, incidents involving explosives, and suspicious packages. The instructor shares his experience as a sheriff deputy and a fire department company officer, case histories, and emergency response critiques to highlight course objectives and enhance learning. Strategy and tactics discussed provide guidelines and best practices for departments of any size or configuration.

John Ceriello on fire behavior

Backdrafts, Smoke Explosions, and Other Fireground Phenomena

View Now!

In December 2018, a fire in a one-story taxpayer fire in Queens, New York, resulted in a spectacular smoke explosion event captured on video. The video spread across the Internet, causing many to ask, “What the hell was that?” Here is an in-depth look at the odd fire behavior that to the untrained eye may seem like an isolated incident.

Firefighter bailout training at FDIC

Performance Under Pressure: Building a Reality-Based Training Program

View Now

This webcast introduces the model of Reality-Based Training from the basic recruit to the incident commander. Athletes, military, and law enforcement have been using Reality-Based Training to train the body and mind for performance for decades.

Most Read